I know, I know – it’s been a while…

Nothing since May 15th, I know – I was in the Caribbean for a week and then spent a week catching up at work. Anyway, here comes what will be my longest post since I started this thing a few weeks ago (let’s hope I still have a couple readers!):

I’ve been reading it all over ESPN.com, MLB.com, CNNSI.com – "No team has ever come back from a 13.5 game deficit to win a division"; "No team 8 games under .500 after 50 games have ever won a playoff series in the Wildcard Era"; Ladies and Gentlemen, as Chris Berman would say, "That is why they play the games…"

Does anyone remember (I try to forget) 2004? I had Game One World Series tickets all paid for and ready to face the Cardinals at Yankee Stadium, and then the Yanks lost 4 straight. God, I even tried to root for Kevin Brown. That was desperation. What I’m saying is that ESPN.com, MLB.com, CNNSI.com, etc…all said: "No one has ever been down 3 games to none and came back to win four straight…"

Guess what guys, call me nuts, or call it the Caribbean sun (or the vast amounts of rum that were poured down my throat), but how about the Yanks rewrite a little history? We won last night, now it’s a 12.5-game deficit…one game at a time, we’re in business.

*(sidenote: I convinced myself that this year I would remain as optimistic as possible in several situations that don’t involve Mike Myers; like for instance, I was going be an A-Rod fan – no getting on his case, no booing, etc…so i’m going to remain as optimistic about this season as I can)

The Yankee Clippard makes his debut against the Muts:
I happened to be in a bar/restaurant in St. Thomas when the projection TV put on the Yanks/Mets game when Clip made his debut – and yes his ears are huge. But I like the way he pitches, even that weird stutter-step he does – against the Mets he wasn’t afraid to go at some guys, which was nice to see, because some guys get all scared once they get on a big-league mound. Yes, he regressed a little in his next start against the Angels, but I see him as a keeper in the Yanks rotation for years down the line with Wang-er & Hughes….

2 of 3 Against the Red ***:
The Yanks took 2 of 3 against Boston after salvaging the last game against the Mets, and to be honest with you, I thought that was the turnaround – all of a sudden the Angels didn’t seem scary and the Yanks were back in business! Even the game I had tickets to (Wed, 5/23) they won – so my father’s coworker must’ve had a blast!

Angels Sweep the Yanks into the Gutter:
…and then they lose 3 straight to Los Angeles of Anaheim which resides in California along the Pacific Ocean on the West Coast. Ugh, what a step back. And then it’s about this time that I realize why all the Phillies phans I know were laughing at me when we got Abreu last year. The guy really stinks (I know, I should remain optimistic for my blood pressure’s sake).

Pettitte = bigger Savior then Roger?
Andy has rekindled the reason as to why he is and always will be one of my favorite pitchers ever. The guy can pitch! He’s out there busting his *** every 5th day – he’s had exactly ONE bad start all year (naturally the game I went to see him against Matsuzaka). I wonder if he is having any impact on some of our young starters like DeSalvo, the Yankee Clippard, Hughes, etc…after all, the guy spends a large amount with Clemens, maybe by osmosis some of it has been brought Pettitte’s way.
Just think, if Andy actually got 3 runs a game, he might have 8 wins with that tiny ERA, and nobody would be talking about Beckett, or Lackey, or anyone else with all the wins…

"Ha!":
I can argue for both sides, because I coach High School baseball and constantly tell my players NOT to pull that ****, but then I play in a Men’s league and guys do it all the time. I
Howie Clark should’ve been yelling "Mine", "I got it!", anything like that, since he was camped out under it. That is something taught all through the ranks of baseball – "Call the ball!" It’s always easy to pin a mistake on the guy making $25million when YOU should’ve been the one yelling the loudest.

With Giambi hurt, unfortunately Abreu has to play:
I’m getting tired of lazy Bobby – he refuses to dive for a ball, or even slide on his knees in the outfield for fear of a grass stain – and I’m convinced I could hit better then him right now, and I’ve been exclusively pitching since college. The whole fantasy of mine that they could bench him while Melky plays went out the window because the Giambino went down. Which *****, because I sit in the RF box seats very often and would one day love to snag a Giambi-bomb…I sure as **** know that Abreu won’t hit one to me, and when he’s in RF on defense I need to wear sunglasses for the night games because he refuses to get his uniform dirty. And the whiteness blinds me.

Roger on Monday!
I cannot wait. Roger is the man, can’t wait to see him mow White Sox hitters down. Hopefully we’ll be coming off a 3-game Boston sweep and the bats will be banging out some runs. At least we know that Jetes and Jorge will be mashing…

A little treat for those of you who read this far; an Alyssa Milano photo, in a Yankees shirt. Most heterosexual males dream of this…
Alyssamilanoyankeesjersey

One comment

  1. jimmyfbx@aol.com

    Hi,

    Just a note to let you know, as the baseball season draws down, that the NY Yankee baseball team’s claim to have “won more sports championships than any other team” is not correct. This clam seems to be made once in every TV broadcast of Yankee games.

    At least one team, the Gaelic Athletic Association’s Kerry Team (the Kingdom is the nickname) has won 34 to date and is going to try for their 35th on Sunday, September 16, 2007.

    Kerry won their first championship, beating London in 1903, the year the Yankees moved their franchise from Baltimore to New York. Kerry lost at the old NY Giants field, the Polo Grounds in 1947. That much-recounted championship game was replayed as a National League game on its 50th anniversary in 1997 in NYC at Downing Stadium on Randal’s Island of west 125 street.

    Kerry won this rematch in a well attend game that drew spectators from Europe, Australia and the Far East. Former Mayor Giuliani was part of the festivities. I talked with him myself. I also attended the 1947 game at the Polo Grounds.

    From Wikipedia Encyclopedia

    Kerry

    “Gaelic football History

    Kerry are the most successful team in Gaelic football. They have won the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship on 34 occasions. The county holds a number of distinctive records in football championship history. Kerry has played in more All-Ireland finals than any other team – 52 in all as of 17 September 2006. Although Wexford has the honour of being the first team to win four-in-a-row, Kerry has won four consecutive titles on two occasions (1929-1932 and 1978-1981).

    The Kerry team of the 1970s and 1980s is considered one of the greatest of all time. Of the 20 All-Ireland finals held during those two decades, Kerry participated in 12, with victory coming on 9 occasions. In 1982, Kerry came within one minute of winning an unprecedented fifth All-Ireland title in a row. However, a late goal by Offaly’s Séamus Darby snatched victory away from the Kingdom. This goal was voted third in a poll to find the Top 20 GAA Moments.

    Towards the end of the 1980s Kerry went into decline and failed to appear in an All-Ireland final for 10 years having last appeared in 1986 and not again until 1997. This however markeed the beginning of another Kerry golden era of sorts. Of the last 10 all Irelands, Kerry have contested 6 and won 4. Many have spoke of teams like Armagh and Tyrone, who have both beaten Kerry in recent finals, as becoming successors to Kerry’s reign but Kerry have come back time and again and are the current 2006 champions. All-Ireland Senior Football Championships: 34

    1903, 1904, 1909, 1913, 1914, 1924, 1926, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1932, 1937, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1946, 1953, 1955, 1959, 1962, 1969, 1970, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1997, 2000, 2004, 2006 ”

    Also, check the Webb at gaa.ie

    All the best

    Jimmy@aol.com

Leave a Reply

